City Council

Mayor & City Council


The City Council acts as the legislative branch of the city government, as well as its policy-making body. The council also looks to the city’s goals, major projects and infrastructure improvements.

The Columbiana City Council is a five member council, elected by Ward (district). The Mayor is a voting member of the Council and is the presiding officer of the council. The mayor pro tempore, elected by the council, serves in the absence of the Mayor and in the event that the Mayor is unable to perform the duties of the office. The City Council serves as the legislative branch of city government and is responsible for the finances and laws (ordinances) of the city.

Regular City Council meetings are held on the first and third Tuesday of each month at 6:00 p.m. in City Hall unless rescheduled.

The following City Council members took office on November 2nd, 2020 and will serve a four year term, ending in November of 2024.

Council Members

Name Title
Karen Lilly Council Member - Ward 1
Vickie Mizzell Council Member - Ward 2
Ricky Ruston Council Member - Ward 3
Kim King Council Member - Ward 4
Ashley Phillips Council Member - Ward 5